

Council

Wednesday 8 January 2020 2.00 pm Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



COUNCIL

Wednesday 8 January 2020, at 2.00 pm Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Tony Downing)
THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Gail Smith)

1	Beauchief & Greenhill Ward Simon Clement-Jones	10	East Ecclesfield Ward Andy Bainbridge	19	Nether Edge & Sharrow Ward Peter Garbutt
	Bob Pullin Richard Shaw		Vic Bowden Moya O'Rourke		Jim Steinke Alison Teal
2	Beighton Ward Bob McCann Chris Rosling-Josephs Sophie Wilson	11	Ecclesall Ward Roger Davison Barbara Masters Shaffaq Mohammed	20	Park & Arbourthorne Ward Julie Dore Ben Miskell Jack Scott
3	Birley Ward Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	12	Firth Park Ward Abdul Khayum Alan Law Abtisam Mohamed	21	Richmond Ward Mike Drabble Dianne Hurst Peter Rippon
4	Broomhill & Sharrow Vale Ward Angela Argenzio Michelle Cook Kaltum Rivers	13	Fulwood Ward Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	22	Shiregreen & Brightside Ward Dawn Dale Peter Price Garry Weatherall
5	Burngreave Ward Jackie Drayton Talib Hussain Mark Jones	14	Gleadless Valley Ward Lewis Dagnall Cate McDonald Paul Turpin	23	Southey Ward Mike Chaplin Tony Damms Jayne Dunn
6	City Ward Douglas Johnson Ruth Mersereau Martin Phipps	15	Graves Park Ward Ian Auckland Sue Auckland Steve Ayris	24	Stannington Ward David Baker Penny Baker Vickie Priestley
7	Crookes & Crosspool Ward Tim Huggan Mohammed Mahroof Anne Murphy	16	Hillsborough Ward Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond Josie Paszek	25	Stocksbridge & Upper Don Ward Jack Clarkson Julie Grocutt Francyne Johnson
8	Darnall Ward Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea Zahira Naz	17	Manor Castle Ward Terry Fox Pat Midgley Sioned-Mair Richards	26	Walkley Ward Olivia Blake Ben Curran Neale Gibson
9	Dore & Totley Ward Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	18	Mosborough Ward Tony Downing Kevin Oxley Gail Smith	27	West Ecclesfield Ward Alan Hooper Adam Hurst Mike Levery
				28	Woodhouse Ward Mick Rooney

Jackie Satur Paul Wood John Mothersole

Chief Executive

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services
Tel: 0114 2734029
paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

COUNCIL AGENDA 8 JANUARY 2020

Order of Business

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting.

3. PUBLIC QUESTIONS AND PETITIONS AND OTHER COMMUNICATIONS

To receive any questions or petitions from the public, or communications submitted by the Lord Mayor or the Interim Chief Executive and to pass such resolutions thereon as the Council Procedure Rules permit and as may be deemed expedient.

4. MEMBERS' QUESTIONS

- 4.1 Questions relating to urgent business Council Procedure Rule 16.6(ii).
- 4.2 Questions on the discharge of the functions of the South Yorkshire Joint Authorities for Fire and Rescue and Pensions Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985 Council Procedure Rule 16.6(i).

(NB. Minutes of recent meetings of the two South Yorkshire Joint Authorities have been made available to all Members of the Council via the following link -

http://democracy.sheffield.gov.uk/ecCatDisplay.aspx?sch=doc&cat=13165&path=0

5. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS COUNCIL MEETING

To receive the record of the proceedings of the meeting of the Council held on 4th December 2019, and to approve the accuracy thereof.

6. REPRESENTATION, DELEGATED AUTHORITY AND RELATED ISSUES

To consider any changes to the memberships and arrangements for meetings of Committees etc., delegated authority, and the appointment of representatives to serve on other bodies.

7. PRINCIPLES FOR GOVERNANCE AT SHEFFIELD CITY COUNCIL

To consider (a) a report of the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee setting out 5 governance ambitions for Sheffield City Council and identifying governance principles and ways of working that will deliver these ambitions and (b) a presentation by James Henderson, Director of Policy, Performance and Communications on the main findings from the work undertaken by the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee.

Chief Executive

Dated this 23 day of December 2019

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 5 February 2020 at the Town Hall